Tags

, ,

DSC_0465

There are babies, babies and more babies showing up around here! (I guess I’ve left the time of life where all my friends are getting married and entered the time when everyone is having babies?) This trend isn’t a problem for me, though, because I love making baby stuff.

DSC_0469

This time around, I was knitting for the new baby girl of an old family friend I grew up with. I had some Blue Sky Alpacas worsted cotton in shell left over from the basketweave baby blanket that I made for the baby of this particular family friend’s sister. That is, these new baby girls are cousins, so I liked the idea of making their baby blankets out of the same yarn, but I wanted to use a different pattern.

DSC_0473

I settled on Jared Flood’s Wool Leaves, which is written for Cascade Eco Wool held double. The Blue Sky Alpacas worsted cotton worked beautifully held double, and made quick work of the knitting. I love the graceful leaves in the pattern and (just like last time) I can’t get over how pretty the shell color is for a little baby girl blanket. I had a little bit less than 4 skeins of the yarn, which meant I had to stop knitting with one lace repeat still called for in the pattern, but the blanket looks great and is still a good size even without that last repeat. I also sent the 3 month Baby Sophisticate with bright pink buttons that I knit from the new pattern. Hopefully it will be the perfect size once the weather cools down in a few months!

DSC_0470