Tags

, ,

My grandmother, Estelle, has always loved flowers. Her favorite color has always been red. I have to admit that when I first conceived of Estelle, I didn’t have my grandmother in mind – but once all the pieces of the design came together for me, I knew that Estelle was the perfect name.

Estelle, or as I sometimes like to call her – flower yoke cardi, is a top-down round-yoke cardigan.  The sweater is knit in an aran weight yarn, so the knitting goes very fast.  A large lace flower motif around the yoke and the slightly bloused sleeves make this a feminine cardigan with a little bit of whimsy.

The neck of the sweater is wide, and you increase almost immediately to the stitches for the flower motif.  Once you’re past the yoke, the knitting of the body and sleeves is quite simple – just a little bit of waist shaping and some decreases at the sleeve cuffs.

The gauge for the pattern is 17 sts/ 4 inches in Stockinette stitch.  Although the pattern is written at an aran gauge, I think that it would also look nice in a smaller gauge with more repeats of the petals.  The flower motif instructions are charted as well as written out line-by-line.

The pattern is available for 6.50 (USD) as a download in my Ravlery Store or through Paypal.  Just click below!  And if you do decide to knit Estelle, I always appreciate feedback!

Purchase through Paypal:

Purchase through Ravlery: