I know it’s after Christmas, but I thought you might still be interested in the few things I got finished for loved ones this year. They were almost all finished ahead of time!

My grandfather told me earlier in the year that he might enjoy a simple knitted vest to keep him warm, so I decided to take on the project as a Christmas gift.  I combed the vest patterns on Ravelry and settled on a free Berroco pattern called “Peter Easy” (which I thought was sort of a weird name, until I discovered the original “Peter” is the same vest with some complicated colorwork, so I guess “Peter Easy” applies).  Anyway, it’s a simple stockinette vest with two-by-two ribbing at the cuffs, neck, and arms. I chose to use Berroco Vintage in Crimson, and I think the result is quite nice.  This gift ended up being one of those where the recipient opens the box and says, “Oh! . . . Yarn! . . . And . . . some fabric attached to knitting needles . . . “, but I redeemed myself by getting it finished about a week after Christmas!

Continuing in the red theme, I knitted a berry-hued beret for Kristen using Melissa LaBarre’s Crooked Paths pattern. I love the lace pattern, and how the decreases are worked at the crown. I liked it so much that I wanted one for myself as well, and luckily I had enough Araucania Nature Wool Solids left from Estelle to make two! I think it looks very Christmas-y, and my only wish is that I had the courage to wear a beret outside of the house. Someday!

I blocked both hats (mine and Kristen’s) over a 10″ dinner plate to get the beret shape (which appears to be the accepted wisdom).

The final Christmas gift of this year was a request from my brother – more Warm and Cozy socks!  He loved the pair I gave him for Christmas last year so much that he asked for another pair.  So, I made him two more pairs using the same Encore Worsted yarn as last year.  Here are the two new pairs next to the old pair – it looks like he did actually wear them quite a bit!  It’s always nice to see the things you’ve knitted for others appreciated! :)

And that’s my little 2010 Christmas gift roundup!