Tags

,

Spring!  Spring!  Spring!  Spring is back, and I couldn’t be happier!  Everything is budding, blooming, or starting to come back out of the ground (which I wasn’t that confident would happen for some of the things I planted last year).  All this new color and freshness has made me even more excited than I already was to release my new, spring-y pattern – Fresh Mint!

Fresh Mint is a sweet little tank top, with a wee bit of lace at the top to keep things exciting.  As you may have noticed by now, I’m overly attached to a simple leaf/petal motif, so a slightly different one (than on Estelle, I mean) graces this top.  I think my favorite detail may be the single little row of purl bumps right below the lace – it is so tiny and really girly for some reason, and I can’t get enough of it!

I knit this tank a while ago, but by the time I got the pattern written up, knit a second to test a second size, had a photo shoot, and edited the pattern , it was way cold outside and didn’t feel like tank-top knitting season.  So, I decided to hold off until the weather turned nice again and release the pattern then!

Inexplicably, this is my favorite picture from our photo shoot – I think it’s because I can see their personalities in it, which means it probably looks weird to those who don’t know the models, but I can’t help posting it! : )

Fresh Mint is knitted with Rowan’s Purelife Organic Cotton DK, my new favorite cotton yarn, naturally dyed in some really gorgeous colors!  The lovely models are wearing Fresh Mints made from the chlorophyll and oak bark colorways, but I really can’t choose a favorite color from their selection.  The yarn is very soft, and I thought it knitted up very well (especially since I’m not usually crazy about cotton).

The gauge for Fresh Mint is 18 stitches and 24 rows in stockinette stitch (larger than the yarn calls for, just so you know), which creates a soft, drape-y fabric for the tank.  The top is knit from the top down – actually, you start by knitting the front and back panels, and then join at the bust to knit the rest of the body in the round.  When finished, you simply sew the two cast on edges of the lace panels together at the corners, creating a really delicate neckline.

The pattern offers sizes XS, S, M, L, 1X, and 2X – which corresponds to final garment bust measurements of 31, 34, 37, 41, 44, and 47 inches.  The lace pattern is charted only, but, trust me, it’s a really simple 8 stitch repeat worked over 18 rows.

The pattern is available for 5.00 (USD) as a download in my Ravlery Store or through Paypal. Just click below!

Purchase through Paypal:

Purchase through Ravlery:

I want to give a special thank you to my fearless models, Emily and Kristen, (I say fearless because you should have seen what I made them climb on, and we didn’t even use any of those shots!) and to Emily and Eric for letting us use their awesome camera!