Tags

, , ,

As part of my daily online reading, there are a few design-y blogs that I go to (they’re listed on the sidebar under Design & Inspiration). One of these blogs, Creature Comforts, has a wonderful series called “Color Inspiration Daily” where the blogger, Ez, finds a beautiful picture and selects a few colors from it to make an inspirational palette. Well, after looking at her lovely posts for a long time (2, 3 years?), it dawned on me that this might be the perfect way for me to overcome some of my fear when it comes to choosing colors for colorwork! So I decided to give it a shot and create my own “Colorwork Inspiration” series. For the inaugural post, I’m going to rely a little bit on my muse and use an image that Ez featured in her own series,  pulling my own colors out of the image for the fair isle pattern. The original image comes from Sarah Winward of Honey of a Thousand Flowers, and pattern inspiration is from Knit Picks Corrie Fair Isle Vest. Alright, here goes . . .

NOTE: I’ve repeated the pattern here so that the color palette has more impact, but the pattern repeat is actually only 6 stitches + 1 extra stitch.