Tags

, ,

This was a fun little project that I made after my bff from high school saw a similar project on pinterest and said she would buy some if I made them. Well of course I offered to make her some as a gift, and decided to go with the rather popular pattern Mug and French Press Jacket by MK Carroll.

I started out thinking that I would just knit a generic mug size and let Kristin put them on whatever mugs she wanted, but after looking at a few mugs I realized that there may not be such a thing as a generic mug size.  So I decided to pick up a couple of these cute white mugs and make the jackets to fit.  I used Knit Picks Swish Worsted in Squirrel Heather, which I liked for this project because I think the color goes well with the white mug and the yarn is nice and lofty so the smocking looks great!

I think my only modification to the pattern was the increase rows for the base of the jacket – instead of working the offset increases described in the pattern, I just knitted one more stitch between increases on each round until I had reached 80 stitches.  Oh, and I used knit through front and back of loop increases the whole time.  I wet blocked the jackets on the mugs by fitting them on their mug and placing rubber bands over the jackets to hold them in the shape I wanted.

Full disclosure – I will be receiving some hot chocolate from Kristin in exchange for these mug jackets.  Sounds like quite a fair trade to me!  :)