Tags

, , ,

DSC_0331

You may remember (but probably don’t) when I started a beautiful sweater years ago out of Berroco Ultra Alpaca. The pattern was Oblique by Véronik Avery from Knitty Fall 2007. I had some really cool buttons with an old coin design that I thought would look great since the buttons are so important for this pattern.

DSC_0328

Well, I finished the sweater! I love this pattern and think it makes a gorgeous sweater – the only problem for me is that the one I made was way too big! I decided to modify the pattern to be seamless instead of knitted flat, but my main problem is that the alpaca yarn stretched like crazy. The sleeves and body both ended up way too long (especially the sleeves . . .). I thought about ripping back and reknitting some of the sweater, but luckily I have a very tall friend and it just felt better to give it to her instead! Tada – instant Christmas present for Kristen! And it fits her perfectly!

DSC_0324I’m definitely going to have to knit this again for myself (paying particular attention to sizing!) because I love this sweater and want to wear it. The pattern is very well written and really fun because of all of the stitch pattern changes. I also think the style is very flattering!

DSC_0327My modifications mainly consisted of knitting the fronts and back together from the bottom up to the underarms, knitting the sleeves in the round up to the underarms and then joining them and working a traditional raglan yoke. I’ve just realized that I think this sweater was also my first exposure to twisted ribbing – oh what an influence it turned out to be! :)

 

