Hello All! Today I’ve got one of the new patterns I’ve been working on lately – a slender shawl named Fletched. It is worked from side to side and gentle shaping gives the shawl a slightly wider center that tapers off at both ends. The edge is accented by a line of arrows that (I think) add a little bit of whimsy.

I used the same Madelinetosh sock in Winter Wheat that I used for my grandmother’s Girasole.┬áThat’s two posts in a row with tosh sock so I think it’s going to look like I only use one yarn! And you know what? If I had to pick one yarn for the rest of my life, it might be Madelinetosh sock! (Or maybe Rowan felted tweed? Ok, thankfully I don’t have to make this decision.)

The shawl is quite slender – maybe it could be called a fat scarf. Either way, it’s an easy modification to make the shawl thicker by upping the frequency of the increases and decreases. Since the edge of the shawl is stockinette (with a garter stitch border), I did experience a little bit of rolling, but with a good blocking I don’t think it’s too much of a problem. One of the things I really like about the arrow motif is that you can see the shape of the arrow – either the point of the arrow or the indentation of the “feather” – at the ends of the shawl.

Worked in a lightweight yarn (and in my case, a light color) I think this is the perfect shawl/scarf for cool summer nights, and it’s a little bit trendy thanks to certain recent cultural phenomena (Katniss forever!). The gauge is approximately 6 sts/inch in stockinette stitch on size 3 US needles. This can of course be changed, though, and I’m sort of curious what this pattern would look like in a heavier yarn for the fall.

I hope you like it! The pattern is available for 5.00 (USD) through Ravelry or Paypal, below. If you do decide to knit Fletched, I always welcome feedback and questions, so please let me know how you like it!

Purchase through Paypal:

Purchase through Ravelry:

