Tags

, , ,

This space has been seriously neglected in recent weeks, and I only have one excuse – lighting! That’s right, I blame light for my lack of blog posts because it hasn’t been around lately for me to take pictures. I can’t make it home before it’s too dark for photos, and although it’s been sunny during the week, each weekend seems to bring back gray cloudy skies, cold temperatures and even a little bit of rain! Total bummer when you really want to take some knitting pictures to share with your friends.

So I’ve decided that, in the absence of new pictures, I will just give you an update on what I’m doing and continue to stockpile handknits to show later (once I can find some natural light)! : )

Since opening ceremonies for the Olympics, I’ve been working on Sabbatical by Connie Chang Chinchio (Twist Collective Winter 2009) in my Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool from Stitches.

photo from Twist Collective

I really like the combination of the lace pattern and the yarn, but, man, is it slow going for me! This is a pretty complicated lace pattern (you even have to think a little bit on the wrong side!), and I’m using small needles (US 3). Combine this with the fact that I cast on the wrong number of stitches about 50 million times (ok, 4 times, but it felt like more), and the result is me only having about 10 inches of the body finished (I’m knitting fronts and back all at once) – which is way less than I should have if this project was going to be finished by the end of the Olympics. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention that I started knitting this sweater as part of the Knitting Olympics and Ravelympics? I. Am. Delusional.

Despite all of my setbacks, I’m still really excited about this sweater and I can’t wait to wear it. The lace pattern is gorgeous and I love the generous length.  Here’s a sneak peek in the best lighting I could manage (I promise it will look different after blocking) . . .

