Tags

, , ,

Since I was traveling last week, I had to bring along a small project to work on the plane ride(s) and in-between visiting with family and friends. Owing to my nature (as a last minute packer), I didn’t really plan ahead and had to comb through the stash and Ravelry to find an appropriate project the night before departure. I came across this adorable pattern – Saroyan by Liz Abinante. As I mentioned before, I decided to knit up this little scarf in my Peacock ShibuiKnits Baby Alpaca which was acquired while in Portland for E’s wedding.

I think this pattern is really very pretty and that it looks especially nice in a slightly variegated green yarn.  The leaf repeat is fairly easy to memorize after working a few, and I love patterns where I can complete little milestones along the way (one leaf, two leaf, three leaf . . . ).  I decided that I wanted to make a really long scarf using all of my yarn, and that I wanted to make the transition between the increasing/decreasing sections and the straight section more gradual.  The details: I worked 7 repeats of the increase section as instructed in the pattern and then one repeat increasing only on the first, seventh and thirteenth rows. I worked straight for 20 leaf repeats and then mirrored my increase section for the decrease section.  The only other minor change was to not work the “stem” on the final leaf.  My lovely scarf ended up being a little over 8 feet long and I only had a tiny bit of yarn left over.

After being knit, my leaves looked quite wilted and wanted to curl up and disappear.  The rest of the scarf was also curling (what can you expect from stockinette after all), so I decided to use a damp washcloth and iron the thing!  I got wonderful flat results, with perfectly planar leaves and lovely regular stitches.

While I was knitting away on this project, Sasha’s mom decided she liked the pattern and started on her own.  She was wanting more of a shawl and decided to increase more for a wider straight section and also work short rows at the shoulder so that the scarf/shawl/stole? would lay nicely.  So there you have it – from the same pattern a long, gradually widening scarf and a wide shawl with shoulder shaping.  I love all of the different ways different knitters can use the same pattern!  Oh, and did I mention that the pattern is one in a series based on one of my favorite shows, Bones?  Perfect!

