Tags

,

I’ve gotten a few questions about how I blocked the massive blanket known as Girasole (AKA Top Secret Wedding Present), so I thought I’d talk about the process and show a couple of visuals to explain.  I’ll refresh your memory with a pretty picture:

Seeing as Girasole is a giant circle, and I’m a little bit of a perfectionist when it comes to my knitting, I had to formulate a plan of attack for this monster.  Here’s how it went . . .  After soaking the blanket and getting rid of excess water by rolling it up in a towel, I placed the center of the circle in the middle of the office floor and stuck a few pins in to keep it there.  I used a couple of pins through the hole in the end of my tape measure to secure it in place, then started pinning the points out – on my first try it soon became painfully obvious that to get Girasole to open up the way I wanted it to I was going to have to pin out the points 4.5′ from the center instead of 3.5′!  Insert unintentional step of removing previously placed pins and starting over.  Readjusting my tape measure to 4.5′, I began pinning out the points again, starting at 12 o’clock, then 6 o’clock, then 3 o’clock, then 9.  After that, it was simply a matter of pinning out points halfway between previously placed pins, always placing one pin and then placing a corresponding pin on the opposite side of the circle.  Admittedly, this means an unreasonable amount of walking around a nine foot circle, but the results are worth it!  Take a look at the whole thing stretched out and taking up the whole floor . . .

Can you see my improvisation in the upper right corner?  I ran out of straight pins with about fifteen points left to stretch out, so I, um, used wooden skewers from the kitchen.  I’m not embarrassed – it totally worked! : )  And look what a beautiful edging it turned out to be . . .

