Tags

, , , , , ,

My dear friend Deirdre recently celebrated her birthday and, since it’s been a while, I wanted to knit something for her. I started working a simple triangular shawl with the Malabrigo Sock I got at Stitches, not really knowing where it was going to end up. For a while it was going to be an Ishbel, but I thought that something simpler would be more suited to Deirdre’s tastes. I decided to add a light lace panel, made up of yarn overs and decreases worked on every row. I finished it off with a few rows of garter and it was good to go!

IMG_1215

By increasing at the sides of the shawl every row, Deirdre (as I will henceforth be calling the little shawl) is nice and shallow – offering lots of length to wrap around your neck with a little bit of thickness in the middle to keep you warm! : ) I really like how Deirdre turned out, and I’ve got half the skein left for something else!

IMG_1219

As far as other knitting, I’ve been working on a few designs that I can’t yet share. Boo! But I’m also creating one thing I CAN talk about. I’m really excited about starting a Margot for my Mom. When I was home a couple of weeks ago Mom and I went yarn shopping and she fell in love with Rowan’s new Lima, an alpaca/merino blend. I didn’t need to fall in love, because I saw it at stitches and was already smitten. Mom agreed to finance the project, which I think makes this whole thing more of a gift for me than for her! I’ve made it through almost half of the raglan increases and I’m still loving this yarn.

IMG_1280

