Tags

, , , , , ,

One round of Kristen and Emily making adorable baby sweaters for friends, and I just had to join in. This first pattern [in a series of two :-)] I like to call  Bunting.  This name arises from my lack of finesse for pattern naming, but mostly from the fact that I love that the colorway of the yarn is Indigo Bunting.  The prototype has been sent to Baby Cole, and I’m told he looks adorable in it!

img_0030

This is a really simple sweater, knitted from the top down with contrasting color button bands and pockets.  I love pockets on everything, so they are my favorite part of the pattern!  The pockets are very easily done by knitting waste yarn while working the body and then picking up live stitches around the pocket and knitting a little pouch.  I don’t expect many babies to actually  use the pockets on this sweater, but they will look good while not using them!

img_0029

The yarn is Miss Babs Yummy Sock and Sport Weight (which I seem to be using a lot lately).  The main color is Indigo Bunting and the contrasting color is Coventry Green.  I was able to get some lovely light green buttons from Tinker’s Button Shop on Etsy that I think look great against the Coventry Green.

img_0027

Gauge for this pattern is 18 sts/ 24 rows to 4″ in Stockinette stitch on US 5 needles.  This is a pretty simple pattern, however it has not been test knit by other knitters.  It has only been knitted by me, and since I made it up everything made sense to me.  So if you find a mistake (or just something that could be made clearer), please let me know.  I’m pretty quick to respond, so don’t be shy!

img_0026

Download Bunting:

bunting-image1

Pattern Page

Next up: Baby Sophisticate . . .

img_0032

ERRATA (03/24/09): Originally, this post called for Miss Babs Yummy Sock and Baby.  Actually, I used Miss Babs Yummy Sock and Sport Weight.  Whoops!  Sorry!  The pattern PDF has been updated as well

UPDATE (04/06/09): I’ve updated the pattern pdf to include more complete instructions for the increases for the yoke as well as correct a mistake for the smaller size that was brought to my attention. The file is much smaller as well! Yay!

