Tags

, , ,

Well, that doesn’t have the same ring to it as “April showers bring May flowers,” but that’s what I was going for.

Emily is getting married June 7, 2009. That is 80 days away. A more helpful unit of measure – the wedding is 1943 hours away (and, sadly, not all of these hours can be spent knitting). That means I’ve got to get a move on if I’m going to finish Emily’s wedding cover-up plus a secret wedding present.

The cover-up . . .

img_0056

(That’s my office for those of you who haven’t seen it.  It’s not much, but at least it has windows!)

I’m knitting Kim Hargreaves’ Aimee for Emily to wear over her dress in the event of cold weather (which Emily thinks is quite likely).  Emily and Eric are getting married in Oregon, and I’m told that we may need galoshes for the ceremony!  Hopefully the weather is nice, but we need to plan just in case.  I’m making this . . . (is it a poncho?  it doesn’t really seem like a poncho but I don’t know what else to call it) . . . we’ll call it a capelet (eventhough it isn’t really that either) . . . out of Debbie Bliss Pure Silk in color 03.  Emily’s not too much into the fuzzy yarns, so we thought silk would do nicely for a wedding!

img_0065

This is my first time knitting with silk, and I’m finding it a little bit difficult.  My stockinette is very, and I stress, very inconsistent right now, but I’m hoping a good blocking will fix it right up.  The yarn is beautiful, and Emily and I have both described touching it as like “touching a cloud.”

img_0062

The plan is to add a bunch of these flowers (sorry to you non-Ravelers, I couldn’t find another picture) from Nicky Epstein’s Knitted Flowers to the neck and shoulders.  Oooh, it’s going to be so pretty!

Ok, now the secret wedding present . . .

You didn’t think I would actually say what it was here?!  Where Emily might read it any time she wants to?!  Nope, I actually need ideas right now.  I’ve got a few things that I’m stewing over, but I’d welcome any suggestions.  And please, don’t worry about the timeline – I’ve got 1943 hours and you can knit anything with that much time.  Right?

